Vanity Fair

VF cover

Look, I am not at all ashamed to admit that about 80% of what I know about the world comes from the pages of Vanity Fair. It is a stellar magazine, with superb investigative journalism and top-notch writing. I’ve been reading it since I was 10, and by now I actually have favorite articles from over the years that I dig out and re-read from time to time. Who can forget 1992’s infamous piece on Courtney Love which resulted in the author, Lynn Hirschberg, receiving death threats (from Love herself). I also loved the July 2002 article on big wave surfing, which I read while lying immobile in a hostel bed in Madrid, laid up with both a bad back and food poisoning. More recently, I sobbed pretty hard as I made my way through this piece about the black market ivory trade in Africa. You guys! Did you know that elephants get really upset when one of their loved ones dies? Check it out:

Footage from here in 2000 shows a procession of clearly distressed elephants, 127 of them over the course of two days, paying their last respects to a dead baby lying on one of the paths to the bai, caressing it with their trunks, trying to prod it back to life, placing their feet over its heart to see if it is still beating. One young male tried to lift it 57 times.

I mean…gah!!! What are you trying to do to me, Vanity Fair? I’m not made of stone!

Anyway, my point is that their articles are informative, compelling, and thought-provoking. Plus, nobody does scandal like Vanity Fair. If you want the lowdown on the seamy underbelly of rich America, look no further. Each new issue contains dazzling and lurid tales of corporate intrigue, high-profile affairs, explosive divorce battles, and infamous murder cases. I am happy to report that my copy of the annual Hollywood issue just arrived in the mail, so this weekend I plan on curling up on the couch with a nice glass of (maple sugar) wine and catching up on as much Hollywood dirt as I can!

3 responses to “Vanity Fair

  1. Dang! I had no idea! I guess I’ve never really looked inside an issue of Vanity Fair.

  2. Pingback: Lolcats | Mental Skillness

Leave a Reply

