Grease 2

Today, I would like to talk about one of my favourite movies of all time. It’s not a good movie. In fact, it’s quite bad. But for whatever reason, watching it makes me ridiculously, joyfully ecstatic. Like, if I ever happen to come across it while flipping through the channels (which doesn’t happen often, because it really is awful so it doesn’t get much play) I literally start jumping around in excitement and yelling “YES!!!!!!!!!!!!!” (Never mind the fact that I own the movie on DVD). That’s how happy it makes me. My irrational love for Grease 2 truly knows no bounds.

I can see how this movie might have looked good on paper. The original Grease, starring John Travolta and Olivia Newton-John, was a massive hit. I guess the producers figured that Grease 2 would be an easy win — just repeat the formula of the first movie and watch the bucks come rolling in. Boy were they wrong. Grease 2 was considered to be both a critical and commercial flop.

The second movie has basically the same plot as the first one, only inverted — this time the goody-goody foreign exchange student character is a guy, Michael Carrington (played by Maxwell Caulfield, who later romanced Brenda on 90210, and also starred in another one of my favourite movies, Empire Records). Michael lands at good old Rydell High on the first day of Senior Year and instantly becomes smitten with Stephanie Zinone, leader of the Pink Ladies (played by Michelle Pfeiffer, who might literally be the most beautiful person who has ever lived).

To give you an idea, here is IMDB’s synopsis of the movie:

An English student at a 1960’s American high school has to prove himself to the leader of a girls’ gang whose members can only date greasers.

I mean, how amazing is that? “A girls’ gang whose members can only date greasers”! I would like to know if such gangs still exist, and if so how I can find one and become a member post-haste. Embarrassing confession: when I was in the 5th grade, a bunch of my friends and I formed a gang based on the Pink Ladies. We called ourselves the ‘Chiclets’ and we cut out nameplates from gum packages (I know, so budget) and stapled them to the back our our acid wash jean jackets (it was the ’80s). We didn’t do anything remotely cool like smoke cigarettes in the bathroom, skip school, or date older boys — in fact we were basically the biggest dorks ever. But we were totally in love with the movies and wanted to emulate our heroes.

Anyway, here are a few of my favourite things about Grease 2:

– The fact that Michael Carrington is considered a ‘nerd’. I mean, look at this guy:

michael carrington

And that’s what he looks like before his transformation into a smokin’ hot motorcycle dude. It’s ridiculous, is what it is. I love it when movies try to pass off beautiful people as geeks.

– The song ‘Cool Rider’, which Stephanie sings to Michael to explain to him why she won’t date him.

Aaaaaahhhhh this song is SO AMAZINGLY BAD!!! I know all the words to it by heart. Seriously, I can totally bust it out for you the next time you see me. Bonus fun fact: I made my younger brother watch this movie so many times when we were kids that he too has the lyrics memorized.

– The talent show. The costume budget alone for the Pink Ladies number is highly implausible for a high school level event. Sidenote: I would really like to own Stephanie’s Christmas Tree dress and star crown:

a girl for all seasons

– The luau scene, when Steph and Michael finally get together.

luau

Awwwwww….

Really, I just love everything about this movie, from the bad acting to the mediocre-to-awful songs (there really aren’t any great ones) to the campy amazingness. If you haven’t seen it, do yourself a favour and rent it.

p.s. In the process of doing my “research” for this post, I stumbled across a fan tribute to the song ‘Who’s That Guy’ on youTube. This is seriously one of the cutest things I have ever seen, and I wish I was BFFs with these girls as they are apparently even bigger fans of the movie than I am and this looks like one of the most fun projects ever.

Here’s the song from the movie:

And here’s their version:

Adorable, right? Girls, if you decide to remake ‘Cool Rider’, call me!

3 responses to “Grease 2

  1. Keep me posted! I’ve seen Grease 2 17 times. I remember most of them and started counting at about 6 on account of hardly ever watching a movie twice. Perhaps it was Michelle, though the enthusiasm of MSk may have been the deciding factor at various (17) historical junctures.

  2. Grease 2 is quite simply awesome. The song Reproduction is a sing-a-long delight. In fact, I am queuing it up on YouTube as we speak! Yes, Grease 2 is cheesy as cheesy chips, but it is a fine way to pass a Sunday afternoon on the sofa. Plus Maxwell Caulfield was born on the same day as me, which is nice. I loved him in Empire Records! You have epic movie taste! It IS in a different league to the original but in many ways (whispers now) I prefer Grease 2 every time :D

    • OMG, ‘Reproduction’ is hilarious/amazing. ‘The flower’s insatiable passion turns its life into a circus of debauchery’! So many good lines in that one. ‘Let’s Do It For Our Country’ also makes me lol. I can’t imagine anyone sitting down and writing the lyrics to that song. Let alone the poor actors who had to perform it. One of my fav songs in the movie is ‘Score Tonight’ in the bowling alley — excellent choreography in that scene too!
      I can’t believe you share a birthday with Maxwell Caulfield! That is awesome. He was also in 90210 as the ‘older guy’ Brenda dated. She told him she was in college in a sorority or something like that.
      Empire Records is quite simply an excellent movie. I love almost everything about it.
      And no need to whisper…although I very much enjoy the original, I prefer Grease 2 every time as well! :D

Leave a Reply

