Grammar Nazis

Dear Skillzers,

I’m calling you that because even though I’m the one currently lounging at Skillness HQ, eating snacks and watching Thaddeus update our Instagram (@mentalskillness), I want to take a moment to recognize the fact that each and every one of you are skillin’ your way through your own lives, every day. 

Some days are easier than others. Some days it’s easy to bound out of bed, full of energy and ready to face the world with excitement and joy. Other days it’s a slog, filled with traffic, annoying co-workers, and not nearly enough coffee. Or maybe it’s even worse. Maybe you’re dealing with depression, or loss, or the aftermath of trauma. Perhaps you’re facing a major transition, or filled with questions about your future and how to accomplish some goals that fell by the wayside while you pursued others. Maybe at times you’re grinding through, just barely hanging on, while at other times you’re more able to sit back, relax, and appreciate the gifts that life brings us every day. I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again – the world is constantly presenting us with gifts. Sometimes they’re small or incredibly subtle, but if something puts a smile on your face for even a moment then it’s a treasure! It’s really as simple as that. 

I always keep a couple of little tricks in my back pocket for those moments I’m really down in the doldrums – things that are guaranteed to make me laugh. You should too. I’m not trying to boss you around or anything, but I’m pretty smart and have very good ideas. That’s why they pay me the big bucks here at Mentalskillness.* Anyway, I promise it’ll help! To get you started, you can have one of mine…

From “The 24 Times Google Got Way Too Real”:  

(Source: Buzzfeed)

* By “they” I mean “me” and by “the big bucks” I mean “zero dollars, but endless amusement”. Which, come to think of it, will be the title of my autobiography, should I ever write one. 

One response to “Grammar Nazis

  1. Gorgon McDoughnut

    Love the autobiography

Leave a Reply

