Until the song is over

I’ve started driving to and from work recently. My time is precious now, and besides that I need the practice (I didn’t get my license until a bit later in life than some!)

Throughout most of my pregnancy I was too nervous to drive, and even in the year after Junior Juice was born my time behind the wheel was fairly limited. So this is the first time I’ve ever done the daily commute.

Don’t laugh, but up until now I haven’t turned the radio on while driving. I haven’t wanted any distractions to interfere with my focus on the road ahead. Today, though, as I pulled onto Bloor Street I flipped the dial to see what was playing. It was the tail end of a generic sounding song from one of the many indie bands currently populating the airwaves. “Booooo!” I yelled at the radio, punching the buttons. I feel that the radio exists solely to amuse me, and when it doesn’t I like to complain vigorously at it (see also: my TV). Just as I was about to shut it down, the Clash’s Should I Stay or Should I Go came on. Now, I love me some Clash. They are definitely one of my fav bands of all time, and this is a good song. I was torn.

I kept it on. I sang along. I even sang along to the Spanish bits, which I realized are the most genius parts of the song.* As I sailed over the Bloor Street Viaduct, I thought about how much my life has changed – and how far I’ve come – since I wrote this post. I used to be afraid of crossing the bridge via subway, and now here I was driving over it.

As I pulled into my garage at home, a song by the Strumbellas that I’ve been vibing came on. I didn’t want to get out before it was over, so I sat in my car belting it out at full volume. It’s got a singalong chorus that lends itself perfectly to such moments. I realized that all of you at-a-young-car-driving-age bastards (my technical term for people who got their licenses as teens rather than suffering the indignity of sitting through a Young Driver’s course at age thirtysomething) have been doing this for years! But this was my first time. Why did no one tell me how amazing it is to sit in your car, singing along, until the song is over? I feel honoured to now be a part of this club, and I feel like I’ll always remember this song and this momentous occasion.

Here it is:

 

*How great is it that ‘sabes que ropa me queda?‘ is a line in a punk rock song?

 

2 responses to “Until the song is over

  1. So great to read! On Feb 4, 2016 8:42 PM, “Mental Skillness” wrote:

    > MSkillz posted: “I’ve started driving to and from work recently. My time > is precious now, and besides that I need the practice (I didn’t get my > license until a bit later in life than some!) Throughout most of my > pregnancy I was too nervous to drive, and even in the year ” >

  2. Hooray!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

